Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Strange Noise from my computer  (Read 3237 times)

Bringer23

Topic Starter

Starter

• Yes
  • Experience: Familiar
Strange Noise from my computer
« on: February 06, 2012, 01:38:36 PM »
This is my first time posting so go easy on me.

I have had the hardest time figuring out what the problem is with my girlfriend's computer. Every once in a while there will be a loud humming that comes from it. I checked the fan, CPU fan and disk drive. So I could only assume it is the hard drive. So after reading that the kind of noise I am experiencing could mean your hard drive is about to brick, I replaced it. Then mysteriously the noise came back. I had burrowed her hard drive and put it in my computer to transfer things and noticed that it never made the same sound it was making before. I really don't know where to go from here. Thanks for anything you guys can help me with.

Allan

• Mastermind
  • Experience: Guru
Re: Strange Noise from my computer
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2012, 01:42:06 PM »
Bad hd's make a ticking sound, not a humming sound. Take the cover off the case and next time you hear the sound try to identify the source. And if it's an "electrical hum", it could be any number of things starting with the power supply.

Salmon Trout

« Reply #2 on: February 06, 2012, 01:43:26 PM »
Could be the metal case resonating or "thrumming" I guess. When it's doing it, can you make the sound change by pressing the case gently? Is there a fan on the graphics card?

Bringer23

Topic Starter

Starter

• Yes
« Reply #3 on: February 06, 2012, 01:48:14 PM »