Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: beeping  (Read 3452 times)

keef

beeping
« on: September 13, 2005, 07:21:36 PM »
hello. i apologize in advance if this is in the wrong forum.

anyhow, whenever i play a computer game, my computer starts to beep. i played world of warcraft all summer without this happening, however, when i started playing guilds wars i get the beeping.  it doesnt just come out of the speakers, but also the tower itself. also, now when i play WoW, i get the beeping as well. one time my pc even went as far as shutting itself off.

my specs are  amd athlon 64 2ghz
                      512 mb ram
                      ati radeon 9600 se

i monitored my processess with ctrl-alt-delete thing, and when i play a game, the graph goes up to cpu usage 100%.  thats when the beeping starts. now as soon as i turn the game off or minimize it, the graph also goes down and the beeping stops.  i have a decent processor. is something wrong with my ram?

also, i installed a demo for a game, and the installer polled my system to make sure i could run it.  it said the demo required 512mb and that i had 511mb. i thought that was odd

thanks

keef

Re: beeping
« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2005, 07:23:46 PM »
oh, by the way. i know that sometimes beeping is the tower saying something in the form of a pattern. but i cant discern any special pattern. it seems to be random beeping.

pcdoc4christ

« Reply #2 on: September 13, 2005, 07:53:20 PM »
Try this:

In Windows XP, click Start | Control Panel | Switch to Classic View

In Control Panel, double-click Accessibility Options.

In Accessibility Options, select the Keyboard tab.

Uncheck Use Toggle Keys, then click the Toggle Keys Settings button.

Uncheck Use Shortcut.

Click OK and click OK again.

That may do it,
Doc

keef

« Reply #3 on: September 13, 2005, 09:18:14 PM »