Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: HDD as a jump drive  (Read 5360 times)

moosehead

Topic Starter

Starter

• Experience: Beginner
    HDD as a jump drive
    « on: March 11, 2012, 05:54:37 PM »
    I have searched the forums before posting and couldn't find an answer. I had a Dell Inspiron 5160 laptop for 11 years and it finally died but I ordered a cable to connect my old HDD 80 GB to my new computer and access the files on the drive (mainly Itunes). I have been using it this way for about 3 months and I was deleting old files from it and accidentally deleted some important windows files and now it will not work. Is there any way to install a OS on it using the USB cable because I have nothing the HDD will go into to use a cd to install files from. Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks alot.

Geek-9pm

Mastermind
    • Geek After Dark
      • Gekk9pm bnlog
    • Certifications: List
    • Computer: Specs
    • Experience: Expert
    Re: HDD as a jump drive
    « Reply #1 on: March 11, 2012, 06:01:11 PM »
    Welcome!
    Computer Hope is the number one location for free computer help.
    The forum will help everyone with all computer questions.

Which computer do you wish to restore? In any case recovery and restore and installation of Windows OS is always from a CD or DVD. But there are some few exceptions.

Which winds OS do you wish to install?  What is the model of the PC you wish to restore or repair?

A video tutorial:
    How to Setup and Install Windows XP - SIMPLE - YouTube

moosehead

Topic Starter

Starter

« Reply #2 on: March 11, 2012, 06:33:22 PM »