Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Random Computer Lock Up  (Read 3415 times)

aReLBee

Topic Starter

• Experience: Beginner
    Random Computer Lock Up
    « on: September 08, 2012, 03:47:55 PM »
    Hello everyone.  I am an experienced computer builder.  I have one that has been my own personal PC for 3-4 years now.  Ever since building it, I have had intermittent lock-ups of the entire system.  Whatever screen it is on last when it decides to lock up is what I see upon walking in the room.  It never does it while I am working on it.  This always requires a press-hold/power-off system to recover from it.

At first, I thought it must be a hardware conflict.  However, I have replaced the video card, motherboard, power supply, memory, and tv tuner card since first building it.  The only remaining piece of hardware from the initial build is the sound card and the case.  Sure, the sound card could cause it but I would think that happen as a conflict with the first motherboard or memory and that it would go away when those items were replaced with new ones.

Is there a log or other way to find out what is causing the lock up?  I am not really familiar with Windows logs and didn't know if they would register failures like this.  Any help would be much appreciated.

Veltas

Intermediate

• Yes
    • Certifications: List
    • Computer: Specs
    Re: Random Computer Lock Up
    « Reply #1 on: September 08, 2012, 03:51:49 PM »
    Have you tried disabling the sound card?  Then you can rule it out...

hartbeatmr

Apprentice

• Yes
    • Experience: Expert
    « Reply #2 on: September 08, 2012, 06:28:38 PM »
    Good evening aReLBee and welcome to CH

What is your OS (operating system) XP or Vista or Windows 7 and what Bit version 32 or 64 bit.

In the device manager is there any yellow or red icons?

Hope to hear from you soon, Mike