Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: windows preformance options  (Read 4119 times)

TheWaffle

Topic Starter

Hopeful
    • Yes
  • Computer: Specs
  • Experience: Beginner
windows preformance options
« on: November 21, 2012, 11:09:01 AM »
On windows xp you can go to the advanced system properties and under the advanced settings there is a performance button.
When you click this there are features you can enable and disable.

My question is: What settings when turned off give the most performance to your system?

DaveLembke

Sage
  • Certifications: List
  • Computer: Specs
  • Experience: Expert
Re: windows preformance options
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2012, 10:36:51 PM »
I have yet to see settings here that if disabled you will benefit. To benefit here in my most recent performance advantage, I pointed my swap space onto my SSD, where I have a 500GB Master SATA HDD drive with the OS and 90GB SSD as drive X: where I run large install games from, and now swap space is accessed faster.

If you want to disable stuff to gain performance, I'd look into msconfig to remove any bloatware that have unneeded services running that eat up CPU and Memory.

And running Windows XP with a spinning hard drive with no SSD advantage, you want to make sure you have as little fragmentation as possible, and adequate CPU and RAM.

*You also if you really want to squeeze out maximum performance and will be using the system offline for stand alone games or online willing to be at risk for various security vulnerabilities. You can run as clean of a build with as few patches as possible.