Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Changing Program Files folder to other drive  (Read 4803 times)

Helpmeh

Topic Starter

Guru

• Roar.
    • Yes
    • Yes
  • Computer: Specs
  • Experience: Familiar
Changing Program Files folder to other drive
« on: January 03, 2013, 08:21:22 PM »
I recently built my computer (today, actually) with a SSD for the main boot drive and a 2TB HDD for my storage. I've managed to change the profiles' folder to the storage drive, but I've been reading that you can't move the Program Files and Program Files (x86) folders without causing issues with Windows Update, .NET framework and Visual Studio, and other miscellaneous issues. However, I read that if you put some kind of link (symbolic, hard, not 100% sure) in the place of the original folder and pointed it to the HDD it would work. I've never used links before, other than the standard shortcuts, so can anyone help me out?
Where's MagicSpeed?
Quote from: 'matt'
He's playing a game called IRL. Great graphics, *censored* gameplay.

TechnoGeek

Re: Changing Program Files folder to other drive
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2013, 10:40:53 PM »
With Win7 and later (possibly vista) you can use the mklink command to create hard links, symbolic links, and directory junctions. You'll almost certainly run into issues though (especially if an issue with a drive makes files inaccessible in some way); it's almost safer to just install programs to the second drive manually.

DaveLembke

Sage
  • Certifications: List
  • Experience: Expert
« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2013, 11:04:23 PM »