Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Help choosing a new graphics card  (Read 5486 times)

Gelliebeen

Topic Starter

Greenhorn

• Experience: Familiar
    Help choosing a new graphics card
    « on: January 26, 2013, 04:30:08 PM »
    Recently, my graphics card in my gaming PC went bunk on me. So I'm looking for a new one. I'm not an expert by any means at computers, especially when it comes to hardware (though, fortunately, I do know how to put in a new card). Anyway, I need help choosing a new one because all the numbers and specs mean diddly to me. The only way I can really tell anything is by looking at PassMark's high end video card charts.

My computer:
    Intel Core i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz 2.67GHz
    6GB Ram
    Now sadly running on a Nvidia Geforce 8400 GS
    750W power supply

I want to get as much bang for my buck as I can, with a price limit of under $200. By looking at that chart, I'm thinking about getting:
    HIS H785F1G2M Radeon HD 7850 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card - $165
    Is this a good one? Or does anyone have any ideas as to which ones might be better for me?

DaveLembke

Sage
    • Certifications: List
    • Computer: Specs
    • Experience: Expert
    Re: Help choosing a new graphics card
    « Reply #1 on: January 26, 2013, 06:05:42 PM »
    Just wanted to state that I will never buy another video card ever made by HIS. We bought 10 video cards of their brand for graphics department when I worked at a small food store chain and we had a 70% failure rate between 14 months and 18 months in operation, and the warranty on the cards I bought of their brand was only 1year at the time.

I'd go with ASUS, Zotac, or XFX etc. The GPU and specs you have listed are sweet, but I have very little trust in HIS after the company I worked for took around a $700 loss on their cards.