Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Pwr Outage comp won't start. Need to finish dissertation this week! please help!  (Read 4033 times)

kcbennet89

Topic Starter

• Experience: Beginner
     I am a masters student working on my dissertation and I had a major computer issue this morning. I have a Dell Vostro 410 that after a power outage won't turn on or do anything. I really need advice on what steps to take. and an outside repair man is not an option due to an extremely limited budget. I have taken it apart, reset the power supply and it still does nothing. I took off the main power connected from power supply to motherboard, then connected a jumper from pin 15 to 16, then plugged in. The power supply powered up, as well as the hard drive. i then tested the voltages of the other pins and all seems operational. Is there someone able to help?

DaveLembke

Sage
    • Certifications: List
    • Computer: Specs
    • Experience: Expert
    I'd borrow a known good power supply from a friend and see if the system behaves? Power supplies can be bad and still appear to run, they are just not able to run the computer.

kyle_engineer

Intermediate
      • Yes
    kcbennet89

Did this get solved for you in the chat room? Don't remember if it was the power switch or not. Anyway, if it didn't get solved, I'd go with what Dave recommended. I've had plenty of PSUs that have seemed totally workable and still not gotten the PC on for whatever reason.