Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Having an absolute nightmare with windows 8. Plaese help =(  (Read 6829 times)

OldJamaica

Topic Starter

• Experience: Familiar
    Having an absolute nightmare with windows 8. Plaese help =(
    « on: January 10, 2014, 06:57:38 AM »
    Im a musician and make music on my pc. I had xp and it served me well for years , but due to the software increasingly becoming more CPU hungry , I've been forced to upgrade , so I bought myself a new asus base unit on 26/12/2013 , and for 1 week installed lots of VSTs to try and get my new pc set up the way my old laptop was. . The new PC is 15 days old today and im having loads of problems. I'll try to keep it short and to the point.

1. when I tried to install a particular vst , in the space where I had to enter my serial number , it wouldn't let me and said "log in as administrator". I am the only person using this computer , and I am set up as an admin. When I investifated "user accounts" and "permissions" , it says I have "full control" but there is a box at the bottom which is greyed out , called "special permissions" and I cant tick it.

2. All of a sudden , windows explorer hangs when exploring either of my 2 external drives , but only when I get down to 3rd level files. When I right-click a file to select "play using windows media player " , the right click menu doesn;t appear and the green search bar s taking forever , stops , and hangs.

3. windows media player has stopped working , and when I try to play music files with the built-in asus player ( which the files are associated with ) it tells me I have to update in the store , so...the store loads , I try to update it and it kept saying pending. Eventually it said installed , but still doesnt work because explorer keeps scanning my drives and hanging.