Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Updating mother board  (Read 12169 times)

72GSX

Updating mother board
« on: June 03, 2004, 07:07:50 AM »
 ??? Hello, I have a old PIONEX PC with a Biostar M5ALA v2.0 ATX motherboard which has been no end of problems from day it was new. It also has a quantum bigfoot 6GB hard drive and have 3 bigfoots die over the last couple years. I ordered a seagate 17.2 harddrive but it is to big for this board to "see". We have a new PC just to let you guys know who want to say junk it, LOL, I am kinda new to fixing/updating PCs and this thing has been great for learning with, plus we got it brand new for way to much money :'(  So my question is I need some suggestions on mother boards to replace the biostar board with, I don't really need some new top of the line board, just something I might find at Ebay or computer shop that will fit and handle a 20 to 30 GB hard drive and a common CPU, It has a socket 7 AMD K6-2 / 500 now, To me it looks like socket 7 is not used much in newer boards, I don't know if this CPU is much good for newer games or not or possibly going to windows 2000 or even XP. I am just looking for sugestions as to what kind or model board to look for that will fit without to much problem. I just want something that will work and be stable which this M5ALA is not, its so touchy I hate to download anything because I don't know what it will do. Thanks, Tom

dl65

• R.I.P.

• Prodigy

Re: Updating mother board
    « Reply #1 on: June 03, 2004, 12:17:39 PM »
    72GSX.....I agree rebuilding a p/c is a great way to learn.... you should make a list of what you can use from you old machine.......
    what kind of Ram does it have ( maybe you can reuse it)