Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: First Custom Build - Advice Requested  (Read 2356 times)

Pete171

Topic Starter

• Experience: Experienced
    First Custom Build - Advice Requested
    « on: November 17, 2014, 01:34:09 PM »

I'm a first time custom builder.  I know a little about general CPU operation but almost nothing about any other hardware components.  The PC will be used for various tasks: some software development (LAMP stack and probably an Ubuntu Virtual Machine); some 3D modelling/rendering (hobbyist - so just amateur level stuff in Blender); and some gaming (both new and old releases).

I've decided on the components listed here: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/fB77yc

Purchasing all components from ebuyer.com - no shopping around - would cost c. £1450 GBP ($2268 USD).  I don't want to spend more than this; I'd rather be spending nearer £1000 GBP ($1564 USD).  Bottom line, though, spending up to £1450 is possible.

I'm hoping this build will last c. 7 years (as did the build I'm now 'retiring').

Please could anyone spare the time to review the chosen components and let me know if:
    1 - They are compatible.
    2 - There are any reasons why I should reconsider some (or all) of the components.

Any advice would be really appreciated.  :)

Thanks,
    Pete

ajb522

Rookie
      • Experience: Familiar
      Re: First Custom Build - Advice Requested
      « Reply #1 on: November 18, 2014, 08:11:56 PM »
      I don't know much about what you will be using the system for but personally, I wouldn't get the 6-core CPU. Quad cores are powerful and fairly efficient. When I see 6 or 8 core CPU's, I think servers or something like that. I am a build noob too though xP

Pete171

Topic Starter

• Experience: Experienced
        « Reply #2 on: November 19, 2014, 06:26:48 AM »
        Thanks for the feedback. :)