Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: CPU SPIKES! HELP!!!  (Read 3542 times)

myhomie

CPU SPIKES! HELP!!!
« on: November 08, 2005, 01:16:54 PM »
hi guys! ive read quite a few post here in cpomuterhope and i think this is a very friendly and helpful site. thats why i decided to come here and ask for your assistance. this is my first time to register and make a post to ask help from the helpful guys here due to a problem that occured in my computer. :(

heres the thing while im doing my routine maintainance for my computer, after running some anti-spyware programs i ran SPYBOT S&D 1.4 and after it scans i closed it. i noticed that my pc slowed down. so i checked my pc performance in the task manager and it showed a lot of spikes! from 2% to 50% to 100% and back again to 0% and so on. it keeps fluctuating every 1 second or so. i restarted my computer and it still doing the spikes.

i dont know what to do! somebody pls help me!!

im pretty sure that i dont have any virus or spyware that slow my pc bcoz i didnt installed anything prior to the spikes. and i regularly ran antivirus, anti trojan and diff anti spyware programs to make sure i woudnt have any problems but here it goes i had a problem on spikes and i dont have any idea whats causing this. can somebody pls help me? i cant use my computer properly! :'(

here are the specs of my computer i dont know what info should i write here so il just write what i know.
im running windows xp home edition sp2
AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3400+
version  x86 Family 15 Model 47 Stepping 0
current speed  2190 MHz
cache size  512 KB
Maximum capacity 2.00 GB
Installed memory 1.00 GB
Memory Slot 1 512.00 MB
Memory Slot 2 512.00 MB

Oh God! pls send a good soul to help me! im desperate! thanks you in advance.
Godbless Him!

-a guy in despair :'(

Windows98

Apprentice

• Proud user of Windows 98 and Windows 98 SE
    • Yes
  • Experience: Experienced