Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Help with installing Linux while keeping windows  (Read 2540 times)

associates

Topic Starter

Intermediate
  • I love YaBB 1G - SP1!
    Help with installing Linux while keeping windows
    « on: November 09, 2005, 01:44:37 AM »
    Hi,

how do i install Linux onto my windows XP machine without affecting my windows?

Honestly, i've never done partitioning before. I was wondering if anyone would be kind to show me a step-by-step guidelines as to partition my harddisk so that i can install linux as well as having all of my windows settings or data intact.

Your help is greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance

GX1_Man

Re: Help with installing Linux while keeping windo
    « Reply #1 on: November 09, 2005, 04:25:31 AM »
    Are you starting completely from scratch?

Peccavi

Adviser

• Hope Helps!
      « Reply #2 on: November 09, 2005, 09:37:29 AM »
      Use Partition Magic for partitioning and GRUB for dual booting.

For PM: http://www.geocities.com/epark/linux/grub-w2k-HOWTO.html

and

For GRUB http://www.webtree.ca/newlife/using_partition_magic_5.htm
      Computer Hope: Rise of the Machines!

GX1_Man

« Reply #3 on: November 09, 2005, 09:53:33 AM »
      If you are using a blank hard drive, or one that could be, partition and put in Windows first. Then install Linux in the empy space not included in that. Linux will install it's own boot loader. Be sure and leave a fair amount of space available for each. Don't try to squeeze Linux in a 2 gig partition and expect to have an enjoyable experience.

By the way, if you can list your specific hardware and Linux distro we may be able to offer some advice, if your mind is not made up.
      « Last Edit: November 09, 2005, 10:26:03 AM by GX1_Man »

associates

Topic Starter

Intermediate
      • I love YaBB 1G - SP1!
        « Reply #4 on: November 10, 2005, 05:33:17 AM »