Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Overclocking Asus ROG GTX 1070 Strix OC 8gb - Micron mem  (Read 7151 times)

Gilgamesh21

Topic Starter

Intermediate

Overclocking Asus ROG GTX 1070 Strix OC 8gb - Micron mem
    « on: June 27, 2017, 01:34:12 AM »
    Greetings,

So I have bought a new rig yesterday and was very excited to get the monster GTX 1070 and I have few questions about it.

This is the first time I am attempting overclocking so I am no expert in it and I have been reading around that the Micron memory of the GTX 1070 is not good for overclocking and there is a need to update the BIOS to fix that. As it stands in GPU Z my BIOS version is 86.04.26.00.62 and based on Asus website there is a newer BIOS version for my card to install. Now my questions are:

- Is it safe to apply the BIOS to the card?

- If I plan to overclock it, would I need a better PSU for power? (a 600 W PSU is installed currently).

- Will I be able to safely use the card for mining or constant gaming ?

- Which program is best for overclocking?

Specs:

Asus Sabertooth 990fx r2
    Amd FX-8350 black ed
    Corsair H55 v2 quiet CPU cooler
    Asus Geforce GTX 1070 Strix OC 8GB
    Kingston hyper fury 16G 1866Hz
    Corsair CX600M
    Samsung 840 EVO 120 GB SSD

Regards

[attachment deleted by admin to conserve space]

DaveLembke

Sage
    • Certifications: List
    • Computer: Specs
    • Experience: Expert
    Re: Overclocking Asus ROG GTX 1070 Strix OC 8gb - Micron mem
    « Reply #1 on: June 27, 2017, 09:56:47 AM »
    I wouldnt overclock unless you really need to. I personally save overclocking for end-life of my hardware when trying to push older hardware to do new tricks to stretch its life another 6 months of a year etc.