Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: i7-4790k overclocking with MSI z97s SLI Krait edition  (Read 4772 times)

snowfun87

Topic Starter

• Experience: Beginner
    i7-4790k overclocking with MSI z97s SLI Krait edition
    « on: July 22, 2017, 11:07:16 PM »
    Hello all, I have a 4790k with a MSI z97s SLI Krait edition, annnd I bought a Kraken x62 cooler so I wanted to try and overclock. I have my CPU @ 4.5Ghz with a voltage of 1.200. I did not change anything else,and the core voltage/ring thing is left on default. so my question is, just to be sure, it's not hogging all the power all the time is it? I'm new to OC  :D

DaveLembke

Sage
    • Certifications: List
    • Computer: Specs
    • Experience: Expert
    Re: i7-4790k overclocking with MSI z97s SLI Krait edition
    « Reply #1 on: July 23, 2017, 09:24:51 AM »
    CPU's only really consume most power when they are processing data and full tilt 100% per core. When idle they go into a lesser power consumption state even if overclocked. Intel CPUs have Speed Stepping which when the CPU is idle unless Stepping is disabled somewheres it will generally come to rest at around 1/4 or 1/5 clock, so if your CPU was idle and utilizing Speed Stepping, it will be around 1/4 or 1/5 the clock of full clock of 4.5Ghz and will be somewhere around 1.12Ghz or 900Mhz. AMD also has this stepping feature but they call it Cool n Quiet the fan speed can be reduced lessening noise and the CPU clock drops down by quarter clock intervals such as my 2.8Ghz idles at around 700Mhz saving electricity and not creating unnecessary heat.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SpeedStep