Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: No display when Booting PC  (Read 3489 times)

lewisink

Topic Starter

Starter

• Experience: Familiar
    No display when Booting PC
    « on: August 24, 2017, 10:49:39 AM »
    Hi guys I've got an issue here.

Specs:
    CPU: Intel i7-5820k
    GPU: Radeon Tri-X R9 290X
    MB: AsRock X99 Extreme4
    RAM: 2x 8GB DDR4
    HDD/SDD: Samsung SSD 840 250GB / WD 1TD HDD

So it's a custom build PC which I've been running for little under three years unfortunately it won't boot anymore. I leave it on sleep mode over night normally a wiggle of the mouse and I'm good to go in the mornings but there was no display today so I restarted the system manually by clicking the power button. It then loaded with a loud fan (not normal and still no display) so I instantly turned it off again and since have not been able to load with any display. I've tried resetting the BIOS and the CMOS. I've tried re-fitting the GPU, switching out the GPU for another card, re-fitting the RAM, fitting both RAM sticks separately and trying to boot without the other. All to no avail still no sign of life on the monitor. Every one of the fans spin when powered. The motherboard has a red LED lit by the "BIOS_A" which I'm unsure has always been there but suspect it is to show which BIOS is active. (I've also tried booting in BIOS_B also and the red light switched)

I suspect that both RAM sticks have died at the same time which seems unlikely or that the MB is shot, although the fact it lights the LED and powers the separate parts is signs of some life right?

Any help or suggestions would be appreciated   
     ??? ??? ??? ???

DaveLembke

Sage
    • Certifications: List
    • Computer: Specs
    • Experience: Expert
    Re: No display when Booting PC
    « Reply #1 on: August 24, 2017, 11:12:44 AM »