Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Problem with PCI card  (Read 6993 times)

nat1

Problem with PCI card
« on: January 14, 2006, 12:40:11 PM »
I gave my son my old Compaq Presario with Window 98.  He was deleting files to clean off some of my programs and he ended up deleting something that he shouldn't have.  I told him no problem, I would just do the quick restore and put the computer back to it's original configuration.  That all worked fine and got rid of all of the extra files, but now I am having problems getting to the modem.  It seems to be saying that I have a PCI card on COM1 with no drivers.  I tried to install the modem drivers, but it doesn't work it defines a seperate modem on COM5 for some reason.  I am a bit embarressed about this because I used to be a PC Tech, but that was back in 1990 before I started driving tractor trailer and I am afraid I don't remember enough to (or actually not really remember I know pretty much with DOS, but not Windows) figure out what the conflict is.

dl65

• R.I.P.

• Prodigy

Re: Problem with PCI card
    « Reply #1 on: January 14, 2006, 01:07:03 PM »
    nat1....... Have you tried ........Go into the device manager and delete any modems which may be listed ....... then reboot your pc ........ If your system is plug and play ...... windows should detect the the modem and display a message saying that new hardware has been found ...... then it should display new hardware is ready to use ( or hardware successfully installed ) or it will ask you to install the modem drivers either from a cd ( which you might have ) or from a floppy disk if you have one.......
    Hopefully that should do it ........

dl65  ::)
    If you don't know the answer, it isn't a dumb question.

nat1

« Reply #2 on: January 14, 2006, 01:17:26 PM »
    Yes, that is what I have been doing and it is recognizing it as a PCI Card and it says it is working normal!