Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: How to use Media Creation Tool on a USB to reinstall my OS  (Read 4537 times)

Dave

Topic Starter

Rookie

• Experience: Familiar
    How to use Media Creation Tool on a USB to reinstall my OS
    « on: June 11, 2021, 07:33:48 PM »
    I just want to be able to reinstall my win 10 os in case it gets fried or needs repair and it won't work. All I have to put the Media Creation Tool on is a 16 Gig usb stick. Once I get the tool on the usb stick how do I get to the command prompt since my OS is down. I assume I must get to the command prompt in order to run it. I have never done this before so I hope I am making sense. Thanks.

nil

• Global Moderator

• Intermediate
      • Experience: Experienced
      Re: How to use Media Creation Tool on a USB to reinstall my OS
      « Reply #1 on: June 11, 2021, 08:01:52 PM »
      Power down the computer, insert the USB, and power on. Access the boot menu, or adjust the boot sequence in your BIOS to boot from the USB.

More info

https://www.computerhope.com/issues/ch000333.htm#how-to-boot
      Do not communicate by sharing memory; instead, share memory by communicating.

--Effective Go

Dave

Topic Starter

Rookie

« Reply #2 on: June 11, 2021, 10:00:26 PM »
        Thanks so much, that is exactly what I needed to know.
        But there is something I do not understand. I went to the site to download the Tool and the instructions said I would need a Microsoft License to use the Tool. My pc came with Win 10 already on it and I never received a license. I never even received a Win 10 installation CD. In fact, since I heard Microsoft made Win 10 available for free, I didn't think a license was necessary. Is there any truth to this and will I have problems if I should ever need to reinstall win 10 from the  usb? Thanks
        « Last Edit: June 11, 2021, 10:23:13 PM by Dave »

Lisa_maree

Mentor