Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Basic PC problem.  (Read 5791 times)

Basic PC problem.
« on: April 20, 2006, 09:03:43 PM »
I have and Intel 4 desk computer thats about 2 yrs old. I am not very good with computers so this is pretty basic, but the tower part of the computer constantly hums like the fan is on ALL THE TIME! It never has done this before, it just started recently. Nothing has changed, its not dirty or dusty, there are no program problems, but it drives me bonkers. In the past the fan (or whatever) has come on for a few minutes, but then you wouldn't hear it again for like an hour, now, like I said, its on all the time. Any suggestions?? Thanks.

Flame

• Prodigy

• Think, dream, see, be... Everything.
    • Yes
  • Certifications: List
  • Experience: Guru
Re: Basic PC problem.
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2006, 09:08:26 PM »
Have you made any changes to your system recently? Install anything new? Running any new or additional programs? What about the external environment? Have you changed the room temperature? Do you have virus and Spyware protection? Yes, I know. It sounds funny for a virus or Spyware infection to be causing this, but it's possible, trust me. A friend of mine once had a virus that made the CD drive constantly open and close. Funny how these things work.

Flame

« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2006, 09:17:53 PM »
Thanks Flame for your prompt reply. We have spybot, ad ware, norton 2004 and the window xp firewall. No programs recently installed that coincides with this problem. Do I have to manually run spybot, adware etc for it to scan/fix my system or is it automatic? Because I have never prompted them to scan the computer. Norton does it once a week. Maybe thats an issue?

dl65

• R.I.P.

• Prodigy

« Reply #3 on: April 20, 2006, 09:22:48 PM »