Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Sudden Power Failure Installing Windows  (Read 2100 times)

Egocynn

Sudden Power Failure Installing Windows
« on: May 02, 2006, 03:09:49 PM »
This is my first build. Here are the specs:

AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Venice
MSI K8N Neo4-F Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 ATX AMD
WestDig Caviar 250GB SATA
CORSAIR 1GB (2 x 512MB) (only one installed for trouble shooting)
NEC 16X DVD±R DVD Burner Silver IDE

All installation went ok. Fans run, components detected in BIOS, temp fine. Trying to boot Windows from optical drive, the initial drivers install and the SATA/RAID extra drivers on the diskette load as well (F6 and MSI-provided disk). However, when Windows asks about partitioning the hard drive, the system suddenly powers down before I offer a command.

I have not swapped out the power supply. It is an unknown brand for me and provides 350W. I picked up an Antec to swap and will try that tonight. BIOS upgrad? MSI mainboard drivers needed? Why would Windows' set up force a power down when interacting with the hard drive (which is larger than Windows expects, being 250 Gb)?

ITTechnician

Re: Sudden Power Failure Installing Windows
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2006, 03:13:34 PM »
sounds like to much power for your power supply.
Also by looking at ya hard ware those do take allot fo energy so you might wanna get a new power supply 350 watts or higher.

im sure thats what it is....thats a rather good machine there

ok i see that your power supply is 350 watts wait are u sure.......
well i'll do more research but im pretty sure it might be your power supply.

I'll research it for ya.

Egocynn

« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2006, 03:28:47 PM »
Yes. I'm pretty happy with it. Will be more so when it works. I've spent about a week and a half working around smaller issues and reading. And reading. My ability for casual conversation with non-tech types has dwindled.