Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Need easier way to "empty" my harddrive-help!  (Read 2725 times)

nansaidh

Need easier way to "empty" my harddrive-help!
« on: July 16, 2006, 11:33:33 AM »
My computer has a virus, I need to Restore it, but I have a HUGE amount of info that I need to backup (images, Im a photographer) but I don't want to have to add it one CD at a time because that will take forever and it seems overwhelming.

Is there a "device" or way to save ALL the info quickly from my harddrive, something that can hold ALL the info, then I can restore my computer, start fresh and still have saved all the contents of my harddrive?

Thank you

homer

Expert
    Re: Need easier way to "empty" my harddrive-help!
    « Reply #1 on: July 16, 2006, 12:26:07 PM »

ale52

Expert

• Deo Gratis
      • Experience: Expert
      « Reply #2 on: July 16, 2006, 12:40:47 PM »
      How about an external hard drive?

Alan <>    ;)
      I have principles.  And if you don't like them...well...I have other principles!!

soybean

Genius
      • The first soybean ever to learn the computer.
      • Computer: Specs
      • Experience: Experienced
      « Reply #3 on: July 16, 2006, 12:46:33 PM »
      I second external hard drive.  

patio

• Genius
      • Maud' Dib
        • Yes
      • Experience: Beginner
      « Reply #4 on: July 16, 2006, 12:56:09 PM »
      Actually another suggestion would be a dual-layer DVD burner...they are down to about $75.00 bucks U.S. right now and you would be killing 2 birds with 1 stone...you would have a hard copy of all your photos etc. and be ready to do a clean restore...

patio.   8-)

p.s. i would highly recommend Lite-On for a brand...others might have some more suggestions.
      « Last Edit: July 16, 2006, 12:57:07 PM by patio »
      " Anyone who goes to a psychiatrist should have his head examined. "

soybean

Genius