Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Trouble with WinXP installation  (Read 2761 times)

Athena

Trouble with WinXP installation
« on: July 23, 2006, 11:43:38 AM »
Hi! I'm a total newbie in this forum and I am desperate, so pls help!  :-?
I have formatted my hard drive and tried to reinstall win xp pro. The pc seems to install the initial files and displays "your computer will reboot, the installation will continue after rebooting". After rebooting though, it does not continue, it installs the same files again, displays the same messages and reboots. It's driving me crazy, doing the same thing over and over again. I tried formatting again but it didn't work.
Has anyone come across anything like that? Please help, I'm about  to beat the tower [smiley=angry.gif]into a pulp

pcdoc4christ

Re: Trouble with WinXP installation
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2006, 12:04:42 PM »
Athena:

When Windows Setup begins to reboot, press and hold in the power button on the computer to turn the power off, wait 10 seconds, then press the press the power button again.  Windows setup will then try to continue the installation where it stalled.

If this does not work, let us know.  There are other things you can try.

Doc
« Last Edit: July 23, 2006, 12:05:32 PM by pcdoc4christ »

Athena

« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2006, 12:50:54 PM »
It does not seem to work, I'm afraid  :-[ :'(

Let me give you some more details.  I have an 80 GB HD which I have formatted.