Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Please verify GOOD or BAD advice to delete driver  (Read 16607 times)

XP_Fatal_Error

Please verify GOOD or BAD advice to delete driver
« on: October 13, 2006, 10:46:40 AM »
Though I make my living on my PC, my tech knowledge is very limited, any help would be greatly appreciated.

Windows XP is my OS.

My pc reboots, goes to black screen, or hangs up at random times.
Microsoft messages says it is caused by my video driver, and I need to update it.

I finally found out what type video card I have, found the updated driver, downloaded it and am ready to install it.

Here's my question: I was told to delete the other driver first and disable my virus protection before installing the new driver. Is that good advice?
 If I delete the other driver first, won't my monitor screen go blank?
Forgive me if that's a stupid question, but as I said my tech knowledge is very limited.

My sincere thanks for any help. :o :o

Raptor

Re: Please verify GOOD or BAD advice to delete dri
« Reply #1 on: October 13, 2006, 10:56:43 AM »
No, you can safely remove the previous driver installed. Windows will automatically switch to a default driver that can be used until you install the proper Windows drivers.

Make certain all your fans are in working order and that dust isn't clogging air-intake.

XP_Fatal_Error

« Reply #2 on: October 13, 2006, 11:19:09 AM »
WOW! That was QUICK!!
Thank you very much Raptor!

I know you guys don't get anywhere near the amount of praise you deserve, so let me say:

The world needs MORE people like YOU and the others here, who freely give of themselves unselfishly to help others.

I raise my glass in a toast to you, and all the others!

Be assured I will praise Computerhope at every opportunity.

Joe A. Nesbitt  AKA: XP_Fatal_Error
CEO Nesco Enterprises

Raptor

« Reply #3 on: October 13, 2006, 02:29:43 PM »