Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Standard Operating Procedures (SOPs) for ICT  (Read 10155 times)

Sbu

Standard Operating Procedures (SOPs) for ICT
« on: October 24, 2006, 09:27:34 AM »
Is there any available SOPs for use of IT equipment that is available out there? I need a model to refer to when I'm developing one for the company I work for. I've never done it before. :-[

Raptor

Re: Standard Operating Procedures (SOPs) for ICT
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2006, 09:36:42 AM »
I'll check my online Cisco course to see if I can find any for you, I hope I still remember the password..

soybean

Genius
  • The first soybean ever to learn the computer.
  • Computer: Specs
  • Experience: Experienced
« Reply #2 on: October 24, 2006, 10:03:07 AM »
A Google search on writing an SOP yields some references that might be helpful.  Some of them pertain to specific industries, but the general approach could be applied to other areas, with appropriate modification.  An example: http://www.cdc.gov/od/ohs/sympsium/symp11.htm.  Note that SOP also means Statement of Purpose.  I presume you mean Standard Operating Procedure.

Raptor

« Reply #3 on: October 24, 2006, 10:06:45 AM »
Is this what you're looking for?

Troubleshooting Basics
      Gathering information

Once the problem has been identified, the next step is to gather information so a solution can be developed. Fast and efficient troubleshooting involves gathering the correct information to develop an accurate solution. Computer problems can range from simple to extremely complex. However, computer problems can become increasingly complicated if the technician does not have the correct information.