Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Complete noob needs help...  (Read 2550 times)

fanuvbrak

Complete noob needs help...
« on: December 25, 2006, 02:16:33 PM »
I swear I searched and I only got a thread about someone plugging a USB device back in and it wasn't recognized.

Here's the deal: I'm running Windows XP Media Center Edition on a Gateway 815GM.

I have an external hard drive running from a 2.0 USB port. If I plug anything else into one of my other USB ports, the computer will not recognize it. If I unplug the hard drive, I can access the new device. The propblem is, all of my music is on the hard drive and the new device is a Zune...I need 'em both at the same time.

Help if you can, or maybe just point me in the right direction.

And if you could respond in easy to understand terms, I would appreciate it.

Thanks,
Steve

Calum

• Egghead

• Yes
    • Yes
  • Certifications: List
  • Computer: Specs
  • Experience: Beginner
Re: Complete noob needs help...
« Reply #1 on: December 25, 2006, 02:17:52 PM »
Have you tried plugging something else in before the HDD?
Can you then access two devices at the same time?

fanuvbrak

« Reply #2 on: December 25, 2006, 02:19:55 PM »
I have tried everything. I read on another board that if you unplug the PC for 30 minutes or so, it would work, but that didn't help.

Merry Christmas by the way (or Channukah or Kwa'anza).

Calum

• Egghead

• Yes
    • Yes
« Reply #3 on: December 25, 2006, 02:20:38 PM »
Merry Christmas.
Has the PC always been like this?

fanuvbrak

« Reply #4 on: December 25, 2006, 02:23:01 PM »
I'm not sure, as I rarely had the need for two devices at the same time. You think it could just be installed improperly?

My printer is USB and it works, though.

Calum

• Egghead

• Yes
    • Yes
« Reply #5 on: December 25, 2006, 02:27:02 PM »
Does your printer work when the hard drive is plugged in?