Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Lots of files in C: drive.  (Read 2141 times)

Jarenj

Lots of files in C: drive.
« on: January 10, 2007, 03:45:48 PM »
(I apologize in advance if this doesn't make a lot of sense. It's a hard problem to explain, and I'm not good with describing things that are wrong with my computer!)

I recently got an HP laptop in November. It has an AMD Turion 64 with 80 GB of hard drive, and, of course, Windows XP. Every thing was fine until there was a new update for Windows. I don't remember exactly the name of the update, but I kept having to install the update over and over again. After researching, I found that it was normal and that some people had to install this update 80 times. As annoying as that was, it wasn't a real problem.

However, a short time after I started these installations, I noticed odd files in my C: drive, having such names as 1d07d9201b8e13550fbb51dcc4a8 and de399ce41a434c92da688d6929c8be. When I open up the files, there's only a text document inside. As I continued to update, the files continued to grow. Now that I'm finally finished with the update, I swear I have a hundred files on my C: drive with these weird names. I'm thinking that these files have to do with the upate.

When there were only a few files, I thought I could just hide the files, since I figured they were useless. But after doing so, every single program on my computer disappeared. Finally, I had to go back and "show" these files again to get all of my programs back.

Is there anything I can do about these files? It's really annoying to have to scroll down just to get to my program files, and I'd just rather have them off of my computer. Thanks in advance!

fffreak

Adviser

• That's right I am a final fantasy freak.
    • Yes
    • JSPCRepair
  • Certifications: List
  • Experience: Guru
Re: Lots of files in C: drive.