Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Need HTML help for TINY problem!!  (Read 7966 times)

laura127

Need HTML help for TINY problem!!
« on: October 20, 2004, 05:17:22 AM »
I'm NEW to HTML & I wanna do something SO simple but it's not working so does anybody wanna look at my code & see what i'm doing wrong??

Basically, i'm putting a one line sentence in a marquee but the marquee is going too fast for my liking. I've tried to slow it down but its not slowing down for me!!

Here's the code i'm using

<MARQUEE BEHAVIOR="scroll" DIRECTION ="left" SCROLL AMOUNT="1" bgcolor="#FFFF00"><font color="#000066" size="2" face="Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif"><strong>TESTING One, Two, Three, Four, Five, Six, Seven, Nine, Ten, Eleven, Twelve!</strong></font></MARQUEE></font>

Joleen

Re: Need HTML help for TINY problem!!
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2004, 05:56:29 AM »
Hmm I didn't even know there was a marquee tag.  I'd use JavaScript (there are many free examples of code).  In any case, have you tried a SPEED=X?

laura127

« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2004, 08:04:33 AM »
I managed to sort it, found a website with tutorials that showed me how to do it differently to what i'd seen on other sites! I put scrolldelay="500" and that slowed it way down.

I'm only just getting to know HTML so i don't even wanna look at javascript yet, it looks so hard! Thanks Joleen

Corrosive

« Reply #3 on: October 20, 2004, 02:14:39 PM »
Joleen, the marquee tag was a valid HTML tag. It has been depreciated from the W3C spec's since version 4.01, I believe. It's just down to the browser programmers to decide whether or not they still wish to support it.