Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: can't boot from floppy (boots straight to the zboot "wait" menu)  (Read 2705 times)

unh0ly_freak

I'm not sure exactly what the problem I have is.. but I'll try explaining everything the best I can.

Ok, I got a new older computer the other day and I used active@ killdisk to erase windows and everything else so I could go about installing linux. I know how to partition and everything, but when I used killdisk, it somehow messed up the hard drive and the computer doesn't even detect it anymore... so I took a hard drive from an older computer and hooked it up to the new one.

I got it to run ok, and everything's hooked up as it should be. (I'm not a computer expert at all, but I hooked it up just like the other one was.. and it's working, so yeah.. I'm guessing it's all hooked up right.)

The thing is.. on the older computer (the one I took the 2nd hard drive from), I had already successfully used killdisk and wiped the data, then partitioned it using zboot.. but I accidently set the partitioned space to a system that doesn't exist. (Like.. I forget exactly what I did.. but I named a system for the hard drive space to be used for, I think.)

But yeah, so that means I can boot the computer normally and it goes to the zboot menu (since zboot's unregistered, it goes to a menu with a timer where you have to wait to boot your system). From there, I can wait and boot the system that doesn't exist.. which doesn't do anything.

Soo.. what I wanna do is use zboot and erase the "system" that it's set to so I can install linux correctly. But my computer won't boot from floppy or disk ever since I put the new hard drive in. I can have the BIOS set to boot from floppy first, then disk, then the hard drive.. but it goes straight to the zboot menu and skips the floppy disc.