Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: sorry im retarded sure you guys can help me - computer wont start  (Read 3698 times)

coxy

hey im really new to anything even remotely technical about the actual way my computer works behind what i can see so please be gentle with me, i think i have read some thing like my problem on here as i have tried my hardest searching for some thing to help me but didnt follow a word of it, so can some one please help me, ok my problem is i wished to upgrade my computer so bought a new mother board an processor upgrading from pentium 3 to pentium 4 processor running windows xp sp2, i try an start the computer but all i have ever managed to get is usualy to some where after bios where the computer tries to boot an just very quickly flashes up a blue screen with some writing on then restarts, i have tried making an ms-dos boot disk as a friend advised me but when i got to ms-dos didnt know what i was doing tried to read on here what to do but didnt make any sense to me does any one have any ideas of how to get my computer to actually get past bios thanks for any help you can give me by the way sorry the title is so pointless an unrelated to my problem i just dont have a clue what the problem is
« Last Edit: July 13, 2007, 05:11:58 PM by coxy »

DeltaSlaya

Apprentice
  • Google
    Re: sorry im retarded sure you guys can help me - computer wont start
    « Reply #1 on: July 13, 2007, 06:21:29 PM »
    Sounds like your computer is BSODing, (Blue Screen Of Death). Which is Microsoft's way of saying it's stuffed, either due a hardware or software change. Seeing as you have changed the Processor I would suspect that, maybe it is not supported by the Motherboard or the BIOS requires an update.

It sounds like you have got past the BIOS and it has POSTed correctly, as it would not show you a BSOD.