Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Unable to log on - Domain "computername" not available  (Read 5220 times)

leozeo

Unable to log on - Domain "computername" not available
« on: July 15, 2007, 09:32:54 AM »
Help!
I have a DELL desktop with Windows XP Home edition. All was well and everytime I switched on it started and showed me my desktop. That was until yesterday when suddenly I was faced with my user name and a password box! As I have not set up a password I pressed return and received the following message.
"The system cannot log you in now because the domain "computername" is not available"
I have since been able to login using the safe mode with networking but despite repeated attempts I am unable to do so normally. Tried setting up a new user but that doesn't help. Also did the chkdsk/f to fix any errors but again no joy. 
I am a novice and really could do with some help.
Thanks

ale52

Expert

• Deo Gratis
    • Experience: Expert
    Re: Unable to log on - Domain "computername" not available
    « Reply #1 on: July 16, 2007, 07:49:01 AM »
    Does anyone else use the computer / any new profiles other than yours / tried doing a restore to an earlier date then running AV & AS scans?

Alan <><  :D
    I have principles.  And if you don't like them...well...I have other principles!!

leozeo

« Reply #2 on: July 17, 2007, 07:43:44 AM »
    Yes I restored to two previous checkpoints but to no avail. I have also run virus software, spam software as well but without joy.
    The PC is only for my personal use - no other users. It has automated updates for windows and spycatcher.
    I have also tried changing the computer name but again the same message comes up indicating the new name.
    Jay

leozeo

« Reply #3 on: July 19, 2007, 06:56:19 AM »
    Any more suggestions from anyone please?

ale52

Expert

• Deo Gratis
      • Experience: Expert