Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Secure web conferencing  (Read 3112 times)

kristi_joana

Secure web conferencing
« on: November 07, 2007, 09:19:33 PM »
I am looking for web conferencing appliance that is reliable especially with security concern. I am a lawyer by profession and sometimes I need web to discuss my cases. Can anyone recommend any software/hardware combination appliance that would suit my needs? Thanks in advance.

viking

Adviser
  • miaow-miaow 2.0 for networks
    Re: Secure web conferencing
    « Reply #1 on: November 08, 2007, 05:09:38 AM »
    Hi.
    Maybe this helps: http://www.jabber.org/about/overview.shtml
    You need someone who knows how to install this application - this is the "server" and not the "client" application (computer jargon).
    As client application (I mean installed on your computer) you may use some information from here: http://www.jabber.org/user/userguide/#chooseclient
    or here:
    http://www.jabber.org/software/clients.shtml

When I read your demand, I understood that you are looking for an "instant messenger" client (computer jargon). But without the server secured, your communication is still unsecured and for that I mentioned first the server.

If you want me to help you more, please give me more information. I placed this information based on my readings (magazines, articles on internet etc), I don't know a similar offer from a software company - and pay attention, when you use AIM, yahoo messenger, Messenger Live (Microsoft IM client) the information is considered to be their property also (because is "processed" by their servers). I didn't hear about cases where such a company would spy conversations but you never know who has access to your discussions. Of course, it depends on the importance (magnitude?) of the cases you are working on. I suspect you don't sue governments ;)

soybean

Genius