Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: WinXP won't load; chkdsk keeps repeating and restarting  (Read 6100 times)

kota132

WinXP won't load; chkdsk keeps repeating and restarting
« on: January 22, 2008, 09:10:53 AM »
Hello all, this is my first post here. I'm a college student; majoring in computer systems engineering technology. Classes don't start for spring until the end of the week, so I can't have my professors help me, so I'm using fourms to fix my problem. Here it is:

I'm currently working on a Dell Inspirion 1501, AMD 64x Dual Core, 1GB RAM, 100 GB HDD, Windows XP Media Center Edition, SP2.

The original problem was a registry error message that was coming up at startup, and Internet Explorer 7 would not load the Internet even though everything with the Local Area Connection was fine.

These problems were fixed by: Uninstalling Internet Explorer 7, and running TuneUp2008, which has a registry cleaner, which fixed several problems. Everything seemed to work fine after this; up until I attempted to use Spyware Blaster and Ad-Aware. The computer was not allowing them to access the internet.
Checked the Windows Firewall, and added the programs to the exceptions list, still nothing.

Then I realized that they had Norton Internet Security 2006 installed, so figuring that it was the Norton firewall blocking those programs I attempted to open Norton. The program would not open, and would freeze. After several unsuccessful attempts to uninstall Norton, (I was recieving some error message aboue being logged into Norton as an Admin user, but since Norton would not open, I could not do this) I found the solution on the internet, a file from Symtematec, I ran it, and it said that it would be completely uninstalled after the next restart, so I restarted.