Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: What video card do I need?  (Read 5453 times)

Jason Logan

What video card do I need?
« on: January 25, 2005, 04:16:24 PM »
I just purchased a LG L1720P monitor which has the option of  using analog or digital.  My pc however only allows for analog.  I would like to get a video card to convert to digital, but I am a novice in this area and have no idea what to look for.  All I am primarily using this setup for is to do digital photography editing work, it is not for gaming although will play occasional games.  I would like to stay under $100 (the lower the better).  My pc is a Compaq Presario SR1330NX with a 3200+ Athlon.  Any help would be much appreciated, thank you.

Jason

Flame

• Prodigy

• Think, dream, see, be... Everything.
    • Yes
  • Certifications: List
  • Experience: Guru
Re: What video card do I need?
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2005, 05:16:02 PM »
Hello Jason... It seems like NVIDIA might suit your needs well... You can get a decent video card these days for about $77 or under... Also, MOST video cards these days allow digital outout, so you should not have much trouble trying to find one... HOWEVER.... You will want to check with your computer manufacturer BEFORE making ANY upgrades, so that you can find out if your new hardware will be compatible or not... Let us know what happens...

[glb]Flame[/glb]

Zero42011

« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2005, 06:39:34 PM »
This will help you narrow your graphics card choices down.

The graphics for that computer are on-board. Because of that, Compaq did not equip the motherboard with an AGP slot (most graphics cards use this)

There ARE PCI slot graphics cards though. For good prices, if you trust internet shopping, go to Newegg.com.

A link to PCI graphics cards from Newegg is right here