Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Problem With Printing  (Read 3378 times)

MaiBeadz

Topic Starter

Problem With Printing
    « on: May 05, 2008, 09:08:09 PM »
    Hi - I'm new with this HTML business, and just recently volunteered to help with the website for our non-profit community association.  Our website is defined as a collection of three frames.  Everything works well, except during printing.  It either only prints the content of one of the frames (leftmenu.htm referenced below), which consists only of navigational links, or prints the content of each frame on a separate sheet of paper.  I would like to have everything printed as one document exactly as it appears on screen.  I tested with both Firefox and Internet Explorer.  I don't know what causes this problem, but I suspect it has something to do with frames.  Am I on the right track?  Please help!

Here is the source code for the index.htm file:

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Frameset//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/frameset.dtd">
    <html>
    <head>
    <title>Garden Villas</title>
    <meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1">
    </head>

<frameset rows="201,*" frameborder="no" border="0" framespacing="0">
      <frame src="header.htm" name="Header" scrolling="NO" noresize id="Header" >
      <frameset cols="182,*" framespacing="0" frameborder="NO" border="0">
        <frame src="leftmenu.htm" name="leftmenu" scrolling="NO" noresize id="leftmenu">
        <frame src="GVdocs/intro.htm" name="main" id="main">
      </frameset>
    <noframes>This is Garden Villas Web Site</noframes>
    </frameset>
    </html>

Astoria

Intermediate

Re: Problem With Printing
      « Reply #1 on: May 05, 2008, 09:56:30 PM »
      You're completely right, that's one of the evil's of frame usage.
      Usually only the frame that's in focus will be printed.