Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Formating the C drive in Windows 2000  (Read 4880 times)

Silencher

Topic Starter

Starter

Formating the C drive in Windows 2000
    « on: April 28, 2008, 07:47:06 PM »
    Hey all,

I'm a little new to messing with my computer, but I need to completely remove all data from the computer. Is there a way to format/re-format? I tried right clicking on the c-drive and formatting, but it gives me the error to close all disk utilities, I have no applications running.. so I'm not sure what to do.

If you could help, that would be great.

Dusty

Egghead

• I could if she would, but she won't so I don't.
    • Experience: Beginner
    Re: Formating the C drive in Windows 2000
    « Reply #1 on: April 28, 2008, 07:52:22 PM »
    Welcome to the CH forums.

Change the bios boot sequence to boot from the cdrom first (if necessary) then boot from your Windows install cd and follow the on-screen prompts to delete/create partitions and format.

Good luck
    One good deed is worth more than a year of good intentions.

Silencher

Topic Starter

Starter

« Reply #2 on: April 28, 2008, 07:53:54 PM »
      Welcome to the CH forums.

Change the bios boot sequence to boot from the cdrom first (if necessary) then boot from your Windows install cd and follow the on-screen prompts to delete/create partitions and format.

Good luck

How do I change the bios boot sequence to do that? And I do not have the windows install CD any longer, is there another method?

Silencher

Topic Starter

Starter

« Reply #3 on: April 28, 2008, 07:57:47 PM »
        I basically just want to remove all the files on the computer w/o removing the operating system if I can help it.

Dusty

Egghead

• I could if she would, but she won't so I don't.
        • Experience: Beginner
        « Reply #4 on: April 28, 2008, 11:45:31 PM »