Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: [Solved] Hard drive not detected by DOS install CD  (Read 16829 times)

Schop

[Solved] Hard drive not detected by DOS install CD
« on: June 09, 2008, 10:10:13 AM »
Hello,

First of all, I'm new to DOS, MS-DOS 6.22a in my case.

I have made an install CD though the (auto launching) setup fails. Pressing a key brings me to the A: prompt and it appears that A: is the only drive, no C: or whatever.
My hard drive is 160 gigabytes with four primary partitions: 20GB windows XP, 100GB, 25GB and finally a 1GB FAT.
I figured this last partition meets the requirements for DOS so it would work but apparently it doesn't.

Since I'm fairly unfamiliar with any DOS environment I do not know what information is usefull so my question is simple: Can anyone post what information is needed from me to troubleshoot this and, hopefully, explain my problem to me.

Thanks,

Schop.
« Last Edit: June 13, 2008, 06:19:55 PM by Schop »

llmeyer1000

Intermediate

Re: Hard drive not detected by DOS install CD
    « Reply #1 on: June 09, 2008, 03:38:11 PM »
    It's been a long time since DOS6.22, but ... first, is the partition FAT(16) or Fat32. DOS won't be able to see a FAT32 partition.

Is the drive formatted? It may be that the partition is OK, but unformatted.

Also, it may be that you need to put your DOS partition at the beginning of the drive in order to be bootable. (DOS had more limitations than newer OP systems, as you know) but I'm not sure that the location at the end of the physical drive would prevent DOS from seeing the drive.

Schop

« Reply #2 on: June 12, 2008, 12:12:41 AM »