Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Passive and Active Infrastructure  (Read 12894 times)

DouglasC

Topic Starter

Rookie

• Peedy is good at swearing, I've discovered.
    Passive and Active Infrastructure
    « on: June 19, 2008, 09:02:40 PM »
    Hello!

I'm doing an assignment for ITE, in which we have to deisgn a smart home. We are asked what passive and active infrastructure is required, however, I have no idea what these are, and our teacher is away, and we have had reliefs who aren't IT teachers.

Does anyone know this, and are they willing to share? Thanks!
    That's Peedy over there in my avatar, playing psychiatrist. Peedy (C) Microsoft, not me. Although I do like him!

When you want advice on foodstuffs, you should come to me. I'm no professional chef, but I love food. I eat it, you know.

Aegis

Expert

• Yes
      • Yes
      • Brian's Mess Of A Web Page
    • Experience: Experienced
    Re: Passive and Active Infrastructure
    « Reply #1 on: June 19, 2008, 10:23:59 PM »
    I'm poking around now, Douglas.  I have some ideas, but I don't want to "say" much, yet.  I used to work in telecomm, and I never heard those terms.  Let me see what I can find...

Here's a start:  http://www.tradingmarkets.com/.site/news/Stock%20News/1312297/

From the article:

So far, Indian telecom companies were permitted to share only passive infrastructure such as towers, repeaters, shelters and generators. Active infrastructure sharing will allow operators to use all key electronic components including antennas, feeder cables, nodes, radio access network, transmission systems and backhaul, with the exception of spectrum. ET had reported about DoT giving its nod to the active infrastructure sharing policy in its edition date February 21.