Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: XP error  (Read 3485 times)

kyle232

Topic Starter

Greenhorn

XP error
    « on: June 29, 2008, 06:12:30 PM »
    Hey I'm on my sisters computer which is a Windows ME
    well anyways

I tried loadin my computer but it keeps coming up with "NTLDR Missing  restart press Ctrl-Alt-Del" and that keeps coming up
    so I tried the Recover Console that came with my XP Restore DVD
    it worked until 21% then the rest of the files couldn;t be extracted cause it says the files could't be open

so I tried to Reformat the whole computer but then it only worked until it got to 61% then it said the same thing most of the  files couldn't be open

please help
    im no computer expert but i know some things

stevejohnson1958

Re: XP error
    « Reply #1 on: June 29, 2008, 06:17:38 PM »
    If you're trying to reinstall the operating system on your sister's computer...which has Windows ME installed...you can't use your XP DVD Recovery software.

You'll need to use the recovery software that came with your sister's computer...or, if you don't have this software...you'll need to contact the manufacturer and order the recovery software.

kyle232

Topic Starter

Greenhorn

« Reply #2 on: June 29, 2008, 06:22:33 PM »
      No no I'm not tryin to reinstall the operating system on my systers computer lol
      im just using it

my computer which is a Gateway Media Center XP is the one thats not working

stevejohnson1958

« Reply #3 on: June 29, 2008, 06:27:26 PM »
      What model Gateway?  How old is it?

kyle232

Topic Starter

Greenhorn

« Reply #4 on: June 29, 2008, 06:35:39 PM »
        The Model is GT5238E and I got it like in January of 2007

stevejohnson1958

« Reply #5 on: June 29, 2008, 06:40:35 PM »