Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: My hardware issue from h**l  (Read 2914 times)

keithburgun

Topic Starter

Greenhorn

My hardware issue from h**l
    « on: August 21, 2008, 06:33:17 PM »
    Ok so I've been struggling with this for about a week throwing all kinds of money at the problem trying to determine the cause and I'm REALLY frustrated.  I've been building my own computers for 15 years and I've never run into such a pervasive and elusive problem.

ISSUE: I turn on the power, and theres about a 80% chance that the monitor will never display anything.  The power LED stays on, green, for like 4 seconds and then sorta 'sputters', and repeats this infinitely.   Sometimes, I can get it to look like it's going to work, getting the WINDOWS splash and it loading up seemingly only for it to go to monitor totally off mode just like usual.

WHAT I'VE TRIED:  Replacing Monitor.  Replacing Video Card.  Replacing Motherboard.  Replacing PSU.  Removing Ram (This yields a different result, the monitor stays in Sleep mode, implying that this stops booting from happening at all).  Removing disk drives.  Resetting BIOS.  Replacing power cables.  Taping cords together to avoid them touching either the video card or the motherboard (this actually seemed to have a slight effect and cause it to boot longer before going to black)

MY HARDWARE SETUP:  Radeon X1950 video card, MSI P6N SLI motherboard, 2.3 ghz Intel Core 2 Duo CPU, 2 1-GB ram sticks, 2 hard drives, and a CD-ROM drive.

Running MS Windows Service Pack 3.

Part of me wants to just buy a whole new computer - although that's pretty much what I've already done!

Any ideas?

Thank you!!

PS:  I should note that the computer was working perfectly without a hitch for about a year.  It stopped working abruptly when I... changed absolutely nothing =[

-Keith

homer

Expert
      Re: My hardware issue from h**l