Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: setting password on a workgroup  (Read 3884 times)

r3ynz_t4nz

Topic Starter

Beginner
  • A programmer is a king
    setting password on a workgroup
    « on: September 18, 2008, 09:12:07 PM »
    hey guys!
    im new in networking.. i am currently setting up a workgroup in a network and i want to set a password in my new workgroup.. can anyone please help me?

ecxzqute..

Zylstra

• Hacker

• The Techinator!
      • Yes
      • Technology News and Information
    • Certifications: List
    • Computer: Specs
    • Experience: Guru
    Re: setting password on a workgroup
    « Reply #1 on: September 18, 2008, 09:19:10 PM »
    What operating system are you using?

If its 2000/XP/Vista, right click the folder, go to Sharing (or properties, then Sharing), and under Sharing, there may be a "Require Password" field you can fill out.

There is no way to prevent users from accessing a list of network computers, or from viewing the folders at the base of the share... but, you can prevent users from opening the folders, and accessing files.

r3ynz_t4nz

Topic Starter

Beginner
    • A programmer is a king
      « Reply #2 on: September 18, 2008, 09:23:36 PM »
      uhm... i really wana set a password on my new work group.. there is already an existing workgroup in this network. my OS is xp pro.. is there a way to set a password on my workgroup to prevent access from other computers in my network?

Zylstra

• Hacker

• The Techinator!
        • Yes
        • Technology News and Information
      • Certifications: List
      • Computer: Specs
      • Experience: Guru
      « Reply #3 on: September 18, 2008, 09:27:48 PM »
      Its possible to protect the individual folders, from my experience working with workgroups, thats really it.

r3ynz_t4nz

Topic Starter

Beginner
      • A programmer is a king