Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Need help learning JAVA, PLease!  (Read 3792 times)

tigergirl1871

Need help learning JAVA, PLease!
« on: March 13, 2005, 03:42:25 PM »
I'm very New to JAVA. I'm taking an "Intro to computing class". ( I don't plan on being a programmer, it's to complete my degree and it is a "required class) I need help in completing an assignment. I have many books but, I don't understand the instructions, in the book (s) to even get started. I 'm supposed to do the "Hello World" program (yeah I know for those of you who are experienced it's simple). Here's my problem:
It says to "Set the Path". I have no clear definition of what the "Path" is? My JDK was istalled on my C drive. To go on, the instructions say to: Type in: PATH c:\j2sdk1.4.2_07\bin; %PATH%. But if my JDK is already in C wouldn't I just type in the c:\ j2sdk(etc)? This class expects us to learn this in one week and write this stuff,  I"m usually quite sharp, but I just don't get it. I think I have a mental block.
I'm posting here because I also do not get any help from the class, I did try to get help from my school. I guess I'm just too stupid (They told me it was a stupid question) I'm very depressed over this, I've paid for the class and I don't want to have to drop it.
Please help me, I'm desperate, I only have w eek and a half til I'm done. :(

Sidewinder

Guru

• Experience: Familiar
Re: Need help learning JAVA, PLease!
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2005, 04:35:03 PM »
I am not gonna take any credit for this. I found it on the net. It seems simple enough, but being a VB programmer, it's all Greek to me.

class HelloWorld
{  
       public static void main(String args[])
       {
          System.out.println("Hello World!");
       }
}

Good luck with your studies.  8)
The true sign of intelligence is not knowledge but imagination.

-- Albert Einstein

gussery