Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Trying to create shortcut to mp3 file on internet that will play locally  (Read 5029 times)

NTuser

Topic Starter

First of all, am I the only Windows NT 4.0 user left on this planet?  I wonder if there is a web site devoted to dinosaurs like me?

Anyway, I think the answer I am seeking is probably also relevant to other later MS operating systems, but I don't know.

The reason I am still using NT is because this computer has been a real workhorse, it is amazing how it lasts and lasts (I guess I have been using it for about 9 years). Anyway, I am STILL discovering new things about it, even now.

The latest version of Windows Media Player I am officially allowed to use on this is version 6.4.  Compared to later yucky versions I have seen, this one is nice and small and simple.  If I have an mp3 file in a folder, I can just drop the icon onto the player and it will start playing.  I recently discovered a web site that had a list of mp3 files. If I click on those links, my browser (firefox 2.0.0.17) tries to play them in a new TAB of the browser using quicktime, which fails because I don't have the latest quicktime plugin for the browser (I have kind of resigned myself to no longer expecting these latest versions to work under my operating system).  But all I need to do is download each file to a folder on my machine, then play it with my WMP 6.4.  This works just fine.  But lately I have been playing around with these things called shortcuts.  Do you know, that an internet shortcut is simply a text file whose name ends in ".URL" (but the '.URL' does not show up, even if I have the setting set so all extensions show up).   If you examine the text of this file, it will look something like this:

[InternetShortcut]
    URL=http://www.computerhope.com/forum/index.php?action=post;board=1.0