Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: how to make the < char. echo to a text file  (Read 4376 times)

wkmaccaughey

how to make the < char. echo to a text file
« on: April 11, 2005, 09:55:39 AM »
Hi!  Anyone know how to make the < character echo to a text file.  I'm creating a basic pgm via a dos batch file and need to use the < character in the basic program but it is an operator that the batch file acts on so it doesn't echo to the basic program.

example:  echo if t < 3 then goto sleepsub >> timer.bas

thanks!
bill
[email protected]

gussery

Re: how to make the < char. echo to a text file
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2005, 10:22:37 AM »
Use the caret(^) symbol before special characters.

echo if t ^< 3 then goto sleepsub >>timer.bas

wkmaccaughey

« Reply #2 on: April 11, 2005, 11:11:54 AM »
Thanks, Gary!
I've been tinkering with DOS for 20 yrs and never knew that one!

One other q: what's the syntax to automatically feed a response to a called program.  For example: time usually reports the time then asks for an input.  If I want to run a batch file that sets the time to 00:00 how would it look?

Bill

gussery

« Reply #3 on: April 11, 2005, 11:21:42 AM »
time 00:00
will set the computer's clock to midnight.

wkmaccaughey

« Reply #4 on: April 11, 2005, 11:41:07 AM »
I think I messed up my reply so I'm starting over..

If a program asks for a response like a number or name how would the batch file input it.  
Also, (last q!) can batch files perform math functions from inputs?  ex: echo %1 * %2

Thanks for your help!

gussery

« Reply #5 on: April 11, 2005, 11:53:35 AM »
Time to dig out some of the old books and dust them off. :)  Now where did I put those.....?

I think you may be pushing the capabilities of batch files here.  I believe you can do both in batch but I know you can do them is script files, using VBScript etc.

Does this really need to be a batch file?