Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: i really dont ******* know anymore....  (Read 3698 times)

gnomegod

Topic Starter

Starter

i really dont ******* know anymore....
    « on: January 04, 2009, 06:27:21 PM »
    the situation:

i think my computer is screwed.....

basically let someone use my computer at the dorm and spyware got on my computer and i have symantic endpoint and ccleaner....

so i started to try to clean my drive so on so forth and it got to the point where i had to boot to safe mode and it found nothing when i ran it 3 times...

so i thought maybe it needed another program such as an anti-spyware or malware removal device.

i downloaded ad-aware and spybot search and destroy and it told me i needed to buy the program before i could d o anything, so i uninstalled it because im a broke college student and cant afford it nor have a credit card.

i then sucked it up and wiped my drive..... i thought. did system recovery to factory settings and it was all good but all of my programs, documents etc. were still on the drive which thus led me to conclude that it didn't do anyting really.

i dont have an xp disc because it didnt come with my computer so before you suggest that let me save you the typing....

anyways, it was all going good untill i started to notice multiples of things. this is hard to explain wihtout someone being here looking at ti but i have multiples of all sorts of programes files documents, .txt files, etc. and instead of having c:/compaq_owner/documents and settings/shared it gives me a compaq_owner.MATTHEW and i have nothing for shared or documents and settings. alot of my files are shaded out and such and i cant explain it better then that. The shaded out files have no information or files in them.