Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Virtumonde Virus...HELP!!  (Read 4161 times)

noone

Topic Starter

Virtumonde Virus...HELP!!
    « on: January 05, 2009, 01:01:55 AM »
    I'm not an expert in computers, so please bear with me if I make some remedial terminology errors. 

I recently ran into a problem with windows explorer turning on and off.  On start up, everything is fine, then the desktop disappears after 5 seconds or so.  Then it reappears.  I restarted in safe mode and ran ADAWARE SE.  It detected Virtumonde.  I tried to run Mcafee, but it doesn't work.  The only to search my computer was through task manager, so I went to regedit and removed every file that adaware detected.  Next, I ran spyware Sweeper and it detected a file named TuvTllme.dll in system 32.  I found the file and deleted it, then emptied the recycle bin.  I then searched the registry again and found nothing.  I rebooted, and it appeared again!

I cannot connect to the internet. 

I cannot get hijack this! to run.

I copied superantispyware to the desktop using my laptop and a thumb drive.  When I try to open it, an error says the system administrator prevents me from the operation.  I tried the same with vundofix, but it doesn't even open.  So now I'm stuck. 

Is there a way to get my data off the hard drive so I can restore to factory defaults?  I tried using my external hard drive, but I can't get windows to stay open long enough.  Is there anyone that can help?  Do I need to call a professional?  I've got YEARS of pictures, music, programs and bookmarks I don't want to lose.  Please help!

Carbon Dudeoxide

• Global Moderator

• Mastermind
      • Yes
      • Yes
      • Yes
    • Certifications: List
    • Experience: Guru
    Re: Virtumonde Virus...HELP!!
    « Reply #1 on: January 05, 2009, 03:26:05 AM »