Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: unreadable Hard Drive with prior freeze up problems  (Read 3262 times)

COOKJAN

Topic Starter

Starter

unreadable Hard Drive with prior freeze up problems
    « on: January 15, 2009, 12:31:34 PM »
    This is my first post on this site.  I have some knowledge of computers and programs and have worked on them for some time, but now I am really stuck.

I have a computer that started to freeze continuously after a period of time of running great.  There is some history of my attempts to fix the problem which I will try and explain to the best of my ability.

This computer originally was used at my office.  My boss always gave me the computers we were replacing and if the computer was really bad I extracted any parts that were any good, secure erased the hard drive if it was bad and got rid of it and kept any good cards etc.

This drive was originally on ME with an upgrade to Windows Xp loaded over it.  I secure erased the drive with my Drive Works program to remove any work files and then proceeded to partition and format the drive and toggled the boot to work.  I have used this program several times and it works great.  I wanted  to make the OS XP.  My cd was an upgrade so I started with the XP, inserted the ME cd at the proper time and reinserted the XP cd.  I reformatted the drive to NTFS using the XP cd and went ahead with the install.  All worked fine as usual when I use Drive Works.

I continued loading my programs and upgrading XP---the longest upgrade time there is!!—and continued downloading the other programs I needed on the computer, i.e. Adobe Reader, Sun Java etc.  and of course more continuous XP upgrades.  I made several  restore points along the way.  This was done over a period of time.