Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: windows start-up error re: windows product activation. error code 0x80070005  (Read 12009 times)

halcyon10

Topic Starter

Starter

righto.

ive been running xp on this computer for about 3 or 4 years with no problems. i went away for a year and didn't use it. so i get back and i figure i'll update all the virus checkers and what-not. all is ok. the computer was then left for 2 days until i tried to restart it yesterday. no joy i get this message before any icons or the startup apps get rolling:

windows product activation

a problem is preventing windows from accurately checking the license for this computer. error code 0x8007005

neither me nor the admin can logon. grrrrr!. hmmm so i try safe mode with networking. that's all good so i do some browsing online. some guys have 'similar problems' but not quite the same until i find this one:

http://www.computerhope.com/forum/index.php?topic=73401.0

i've followed the steps listed there and was starting to feel a bit confident but now its 4am and its been hours now and still haven't had any joy!!

slight differences exist between my prob and the other post. on that board reply #7 is different for me i have no files missing, i have the 3 files #18 mentions .bin .dat and .sig (oembios)

i also ran the link from #5 ( http://windowsitpro.com/article/articleid/81914/jsi-tip-8521-you-receive-a-problem-is-preventing-windows-from-accurately-checking-the-license-for-this-computer---error-code-0x80070002-on-your-windows-xp-computer.html ) but i found no event id 64005 and indeed no Windows File Protection event sources listed in event manager after filtering the results. there were lots of other errors though, most regarding avg's failure to connect to the internet for some reason. (more details if you need them!?)