Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Microsoft Vista Ultimate 64-bit Boot Issue  (Read 4106 times)

Headbanging247

Topic Starter

Greenhorn

Microsoft Vista Ultimate 64-bit Boot Issue
    « on: January 21, 2009, 11:08:31 PM »
    Hello everyone,

This is my first time posting on these forums and I'm looking for some help regarding a boot issue I'm having. I have already tried searching for my issue and I couldn't find what I was looking for so I decided that I would make a new topic regarding the matter.

Here are my computer specifications:

Motherboard: Asus Rampage Formula
    CPU: Q6600 2.4GHz Quad-Core
    RAM: 8GB (4x2GB) DDR2 1066
    Storage: 4x 500GB in Raid0 and 1x 750GB all connected via SATA cables
    Graphics Card: Nvidia GTX 280 SSC Edition
    PSU: 950W

Now for the details...

I downloaded and installed an overclocking utility that corresponds to my motherboard (ASUS AI Suite) and applied the overclocked values. I reboot the computer and it won't even boot up, it just hangs during the testing process. So I reset the computer and notice that it starts to boot up and I see my computer asking me to insert the Vista Installation Disc but before I really thought about it I reset my computer again thinking I could boot into Vista. Then during the boot process my computer tells me overclocking failed, please change your values or something like that. So I go into the BIOS and select "load setup values" which resets my BIOS. I then am able to boot into Vista and use the OS like I normally would. So I decided to remove the overclocking utility, run CCleaner, and reboot my computer. I reboot my computer and then this shows up:

"reboot and select proper boot device or insert boot media in selected boot device and press a key"