Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: Need to reinstall xp, but my cd drive won't run  (Read 4023 times)

capross

Topic Starter

Greenhorn

Need to reinstall xp, but my cd drive won't run
    « on: January 28, 2009, 12:56:31 AM »
    Cliffs Notes: Computer needs os reinstall, can't install from any cd drive, tried multiple things before I posted here, but I am new at this.

Oookay..  here's a quick background on my situation..  I'm learning about computers and trying to get my A+  certification, so I got a second computer to work on.  It was free, cause it had no harddrive.  It's an AMD 1.2ghz, 512ram, now has a 10gig harddrive, an asus video card, and it's currently used to watch video on my tv.

I first installed xp sp1, and it ran fine, upgraded to sp2 and got half a dozen viruses(hello irony).  Uninstalled sp2, back to sp1 now.  I installed Avast antivirus(which seems to work fine on my "good" computer) and removed the viruses.Now, it freezes a lot when I try to load anything but a few .avi's .  And sometimes when I try to load windows and log on, the screen goes blank and the tv gets no signal from the computer(default on my tv is "unusable signal" if there's nothing connected to the input, that's what I see)

I tried to reinstall xp, but the cd wouldn't run at all, drive wouldn't recognize a disk.  Uninstalled and reinstalled drivers, nothing.  I left the disk in and it ran after about half an hour(forgot about it), tried to install xp, but the drive won't run after the computer reboots.

I installed an old cd burning drive(tested in another pc) and associated drivers, doesn't run either.  Boot screen shows they're both recognized. 

I'm lost as to what to try next..

Any ideas on what to do?

Dias de verano

Re: Need to reinstall xp, but my cd drive won't run
    « Reply #1 on: January 28, 2009, 01:08:23 AM »