Welcome guest. Before posting on our computer help forum, you must register. Click here it's easy and free.

Author Topic: A new question concerning memory.  (Read 3363 times)

George Ross

A new question concerning memory.
« on: May 01, 2005, 03:28:26 PM »
A new question concerning memory.
The reason I added more memory in the 1st place was I though I might be short on RAM while rendering my HD video project in Sony Vegas 6.0.
(see - http://www.computerhope.com/cgi-bin/yabb/YaBB.cgi?board=1;action=display;num=1114779207;start=0#0 )
Let me explain.

I’m a Videographer. In the past whenever I scanned photos for a montage, I always scanned them at 300-500dpi depending on the photo size. I like to pan & zoom when editing my montages; so high dpi reduces pixel effects. My render times are longer, but I've never had Vegas stall until now.
I took an old NTSC video project & tried to render it in HD but Vegas stalled. I say stalled because when viewing Windows Task Manage the CPU usage drops from 98-99% to 0. There are no error warnings. Vegas was up & the render window is still counting the time. The only way to exit Vegas is to End Process in WTM.
When this was first happened I watched Windows Task Manage carefully & noticed that the memory usage was at least double when rendering HD vs. SD. In SD the memory usage during difficult transitions & FX effects would climb to 750,000k. During the same HD render it would climb to 1,350,000k & this is where it would stall.
My system is a new MSI K8N Neo4 Platinum/SLI MB with AMD FX64-4000+ with 2gb of Corsair RAM. With the memory reading of 1,350,000k in Windows Task Manage I figured it to be a system memory shortage, so I added 2gb more for a total of 4gb of RAM. All four DIMMs are exactly the same part #, size & brand.
The new results of the test were the same as before. Vegas stalled when I hit in & around 1,350,000k memory usage.